Preserving horseradish

We grew some really good horseradish in the garden this year, although the caterpillars (of the white cabbage butterfly variety) ate the tops.  The little monsters.  I was surprised that they found them delicious, but perhaps the tops aren’t as strong-tasting as the root.  I adore horseradish sauce, especially when it is freshly made with cream.  This is the horseradish I retrieved from the garden and I can tell you it takes some digging out.

There was about 225g (8oz) in its unpeeled form and about 175g (6oz) once peeled.

You can grate it a lot finer on a microplane but I just didn’t think I could bear the eye-watering, so I used the grater attachment in my food processor and whizzed away.  It was still eye-watering, it has to be said, but not as bad as actually standing directly over a grater. This has left me with longer strands, but I am hoping these will give an interesting bite to future horseradish sauce.

To preserve it, mix the grated horseradish with one teaspoon of sugar and half a teaspoon of salt and then pack it into a sterile jar.  Add enough white wine vinegar to cover the horseradish (about 125ml, 4 fl oz) and seal the jar tightly.

I am looking forward to seeing how successful this is as a way of preserving one of my favourite things.

12 responses to “Preserving horseradish

  1. I haven’t eaten horseradish in years. I’m suddenly craving it…A burger, I think. Really hope your preserving turns out well 🙂

  2. Wow, what a haul. I remember horseradish from my childhood, my father loved horseradish sauce and grew some in our backyard one year. I still remember the nose burn from the smell, its strong stuff so I admire your bravery for grating it ;0)

  3. This sounds really interesting! I’ve never had horse radish before! What do you eat it with?

    BTW, thanks for dropping by my blog and leaving me comments!!

    • Hi Accidental Weekend Chef, You are very welcome, I liked the sound of that cherry cheesecake of yours when I spotted it on FoodPress. Horseradish is normally made into a sauce with cream or yoghurt and a bit of vinegar, a dash of mustard and seasoning, then served alongside roast beef. Take a look at my recipe from last year http://theordinarycook.co.uk/2009/11/24/horseradish-sauce/. I like it so much that I would be tempted to use it as replacement for mustard at any time and with anything. It has a really strong taste that hits at the back of the throat and in the nose if you take too big a mouthful though, so care is needed, especially in posh restaurants!!

      • That sounds somewhat like wasabi which the Japanese use! I’ll look out for horse radish at the market and if I find some, I’ll give it a shot!

      • Hi, yes it is a little bit like wasabi for the strength of it, but I much prefer horseradish sauce, because it manages to be hot tasting but creamy at the same time. I hope you find it, you are probably more likely to find it in a jar than in its root form. I don’t think I have ever seen it for sale in its root form here in England. It is something that grows wild in the hedgerows here, but I have never properly identified the wild variety.

  4. I’m with you, horseradish sauce is a wonderful accompaniment to lots of things. I’ve only made a fresh sauce before, so will be interested to see how your preserved version turns out. Last year I froze little tubs of the sauce which seemed to work quite well though some of the “up your nose” quality wore off a little. Horseradish and cauliflower soup is really good too. Must dig some up and make some.

    • That soup sounds wonderful. I didn’t think of freezing the sauce. My mum is storing her horseradish roots in sand in the shed, so it will be interesting to compare our sauces in a few months’ time.

  5. Got converted to horseradish living with my hub, he adores the stuff. I had no idea people cultivated it, and just looking at what you produced, I strongly suspect it might blow your heads off! Hankies to the ready…

Leave a Reply

